How To: Zooey Deschanel/New Girl Bangs

Image

Hellooo you lovely minions!

As Sam noted, sorry about the sabbatical. Life and times at university, ironically, take the former completely out of the equation. Anyway, enough of the reasons AKA excuses and back to work fun – as a bonus – I have not one but TWO articles for you! YAY where’s my diamond-encrusted medallion?

First off, I recently got a haircut! By ‘haircut’, I mean ‘my bangs’, and by ‘I recently got’, I mean ‘I recently cut’. I’d first cut my own bangs in the 1st year of uni – alcohol and a pair of scissors don’t really go hand-in-hand . . . pun intended. Fortunately and surprisingly, that episode didn’t culminate in horror stories around a campfire for the future generations of my family and friends. However, it did culminate in a bowl-esque vibe to my head slightly reminiscent of a hybrid of Jim Carrey in Dumb and Dumber and Barbara Streisand (any proof of which has been burnt to ashes). This time round, the lack of alcohol and presence of a couple of mirrors did the trick J

P.S – Oval, Square, Diamond and Heart-shaped faces: These bangs will suit you guys to a T. You needn’t read any further.

P.P.S – Round faces: I have a round face, and had heard from numerous sources that straight-curved (AKA Zooey’s) bangs wouldn’t suit me. I have to say that although straight bangs probably wouldn’t suit us lucky ladies/gentlemen; straight-curved ones (ones that start just above the cheekbones and get shorter at the forehead) make our less conspicuous cheekbones REALLY stand out if done right. Also, the way I see it, it isn’t an arm or a nose, it’s hair, it’ll grow back – so do it!

What you’ll need:

  • Scissors, ideally ones with thin blades Thin Scissors
  • Mirror(s)
  • Water (optional)
  • Hair (not optional)

How to:

  1. Tie all your hair back into a tight pony tail. Take the front-parting out (the part you want to cut your bangs off) and backcomb it to lie in front of your face.
  2. In layman’s terms, the bangs would be of 3 layers – chin-length, cheekbones and eyebrow-skimming.
  3. Hold the scissors with the pointed side up – always hold it this way when cutting hair – it makes the hair less blunt and less prone to split-ends later.
  4. Optional Step: You may spray the parted hair with water to dampen it. Many find this easier to work with and also find the hair to be less prone to split-ends. However, I have never used water to cut my own bangs; I find that I tend to cut too much when I use water (since it makes hair seem longer than when dry). So use water if you like, but at your own risk (this is all at your own risk Ha).
  5. First, measure 1/4th – ½ inch thick strands on either side. Stretch these along the side of your face to your jaw line, and cut at a slant.
  6. Find your cheekbones on either side – your bangs should begin slightly above your cheekbones. This will highlight your bone structure, making us round faced girls look slightly more angular and the others, well, more angular too.
  7. Right above your cheekbones, take about 1/4th – ½ an inch – depending upon how thick your hair is, and cut at a slant.
  8. Next, start cutting the hair at shorter lengths – ALWAYS cut them only VERY slightly shorter (only half-1 cm). Remember; it takes longer to grow back than cut.
  9. Keep doing so until you achieve the desired length – which, in Zooey’s case, would be just about skimming the eyebrows.
  10. Trim until you find the desired length and shape – this would be based on individual preferences and likes – for the most part, I’d recommend to cautiously wing it 😉

Hope this goes well! If not, try and try until you succeed (not at one go, I wouldn’t recommend)

My finished product (pardon the beautiful background of a toilet):

Image

Stay Bright, Shiny and Adorkable!

Until next time, toodles!

– Mallika

Leave a Reply

