Jumping on the Overnight Oats Bandwagon…

Happy Friday!

I hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful weather! I have been having a great day and I must say it had a great start – with Overnight Oats!

I cannot believe it has taken me this long to jump on the overnight oats band wagon (or to try Chia seeds for that matter)! I have been a little bit slow on this foodie trend, but I finally decided to see what all the fuss is about! So, in this post I will tell you all about the awesome Overnight Oats I had for breakfast this morning and about my experience with Chia seeds! The Overnight Oats were super easy to make – and I must say it reminded me a lot of ice cream (can you believe it?)!

I decided to start out on a fairly tame note with this dish since I had never tried overnight oats or Chia seeds (yes, I am a bit of a wimp), so I made a simple strawberry flavoured breakfast – because just about anything strawberry works for me.

Just a warning – this makes a BIG serving!

For this recipe you will need:

½ cup of rolled oats

½ cup plain Greek yogurt

2/3 cup of milk (I used almond milk)

1 tbsp of chia seeds

Strawberries (about ½ cup or to taste)

2 tbsp no sugar added strawberry jam

½ scoop vanilla protein powder

Mix the rolled oats, Greek yogurt, milk and Chia seeds in a bowl then cover with plastic wrap and put in the fridge until morning.

In the morning, mix in your toppings (strawberry jam, protein powder and strawberries) then eat your way to glory with this scrumptious breakfast!

From Google Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I told you it was easy!

I was pleasantly surprised with the chia seeds; I wasn’t sure what to expect but the texture was perfect for the recipe. Considering all of the health benefits of Chia seeds (fibre and omega-3s to name a few) I am so excited at how easily they can be incorporated into recipes!

I can’t wait to try more variations of this recipe and experiment with my Chia seeds

Until next time – Stay Bright, Stay Bold, Stay Beautiful!

– Sam xo

__________________________________________________________

We’d love to hear from you!

Tell us:

Have you ever tried chia seeds?

What are your favourite recipes to include chia seeds in?

3 comments on “Jumping on the Overnight Oats Bandwagon…

  1. […] Oats the same way as always (with the basic ingredients) – see this post for instructions ( https://avantaudrey.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/jumping-on-the-overnight-oats-bandwagon/ […]

  2. Julia W. says:

    I tried these yesterday and it came out amazing!!!

  3. AvantAudrey says:

    Glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

